WAMITAB Operator Competence Scheme

Level 4 Operator Competence Award Leading to COTC, WAMITABQSP provides ranges of qualifications to encourage best practice. The awards are assessed to a national standard, allowing employees to develop the skills necessary to perform their role effectively. Under the Environmental Permitting Regulations (England and Wales) (Amendment) 2018 a permitted facility that receives waste or recycling materials to operate compliantly must have competent personnel.

Who is it For?

Under the CIWM/WAMITAB scheme; Operators must demonstrate competence in the type of facility for which they have responsibility. Managers or Supervisors achieve this by obtaining an Operator Competence Certificate for the type of facility and the type of waste/recycle that the facility is permitted to receive.

How does it Work?

Under the scheme facilities are listed under Risk headings for each type of facility - the qualification is achieved by demonstrating competence in each appropriate unit.

Typically these would be:

Low Risk – 4 units   ( e.g. Storage )

Medium Risk – 6 units ( e.g. Transfer & Treatment Non-Hazardous, End of Life Vehicle, MRS, Composting, AD )

High Risk – 12 units ( e.g. Hazardous, Clinical, Landfill, Incineration )

An approved QSP Assessor will be allocated to you following the registration process. They will offer all the support and guidance to assess you through the qualification. The qualification is work-based, the assessment is carried "on the job" at your place of work.

You will be required to build a portfolio of evidence which will be assessed against the set WAMITAB standard; the evidence will be collect by carrying out normal day to day duties.

Qualification Areas:

Transfer / Treatment / Open & Closed Landfill / Clinical / Physical & Chemical Biological / ELV / WEEE / Mobile Plant / Anaerobic Digestion / CA Sites / MRF / Composting / Hazardous / Non Hazardous / Recycling Centres

Further information about the course can be found here:

Level 4 Diploma in Waste Management Operations Operator Competence Scheme Qualifications